Select a topic:
Payments

Adding a Tip to a Closed Sale

If a sale is closed without adding a tip, you can reopen the sale to add a tip, which is helpful if:

  • The sale was automatically closed after being paid in full with a card on file or a gift card.

  • The client decides to leave a tip after the sale is closed.

  • You prefer that the client add a tip themselves via the Front Desk Display or Client Self Checkout.

To reopen a sale, you must be an Admin user, or you must have the Can start a checkout and modify sales permission enabled in Staff Member settings.

Link copied
Adding a tip to a closed sale
Link copied

To add a tip to a closed sale, select Reopen from the three-dot menu.

Select Go To Payments.

Specify how to complete the tip payment.

  • If the client let you know how much they would like to tip, enter the tip amount in the Tip box. This will add a remaining balance to the sale. Complete the payment as you normally would.

  • To allow the client to add a tip themselves, you can select Collect Tip Via Front Desk or Collect Tip Via Self Checkout. Learn more about collecting tips via the Front Desk Display or Client Self Checkout.

Once the tip payment is complete, the sale will be closed.

Start a chat with us

Can't find what you're looking for?

with us to talk to a real person and get your questions answered, or browse our on-demand videos.