FAQ: Two-Way Texting

Which staff member permissions are available for messages?

The following staff member permissions are available in Settings > Staff Members > Permissions > Messages:

  • Can view client messages: Allows the staff member to see messages when they can also access the client. The staff member will not have access to the Messages tab, but they can still see client messages through the client details.

  • Can view list of all messages: Allows the staff member to access the Messages tab (all conversations).

  • Can send messages: Allows the staff member to send text messages.

If a staff member does not have permission to access client contact details, they can still send text messages to clients if needed. They will not be able to see the client’s phone number when sending text messages.

Will clients still receive an automated response when they text me?

If your subscription includes the Two-Way Texting add-on, when clients text you, they will no longer receive an automated response stating that their message was not received. To change this, go to Settings > Automated Messages > Shared Settings > Text Message Auto-Response and enable the Auto-respond to incoming messages toggle.

What can I do to prevent spam text messages?

In a future update, we will add the ability to block phone numbers from texting you.

What if I receive a text message from a phone number that matches multiple clients?

If you receive a text message from a phone number that matches multiple clients, and there are no existing conversations associated with that phone number, the client name in the conversation will be the client whose data was most recently updated in the system.

Can't find what you're looking for?
We're here to help. Start a chat with us to talk to a real person and get your questions answered.