URL: https://www.mangomint.com/learn/archiving-staff-members/

[Home](/learn/)

[Staff Members](/learn/help-articles/staff-members/)

# Deactivating & Archiving Staff Members

You can **deactivate** and **archive** staff members. While both options are similar, deactivated staff members **are** included in reports, unlike archived staff members.

| Deactivating vs. Archiving      | Login Access                                                            | Reports                                                            | Billing                                                                            |
| ------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Deactivating a staff member** | Deactivating a staff member will remove their login access immediately. | Deactivated staff members **are** included in reports.             | Deactivated staff members are not included in your Mangomint subscription billing. |
| **Archiving a staff member**    | Archiving a staff member will remove their login access immediately.    | Archived staff members are **not** included in reports by default. | Archived staff members are not included in your Mangomint subscription billing.    |

**Note:&#xA0;**

If you need to archive a staff member, we recommend deactivating them first. This way, if they are ever unarchived, they will return as Deactivated, giving you a chance to make any updates without having to add them back to your subscription billing.

## Link copiedDeactivating & reactivating staff membersLink copied

To deactivate or reactivate a staff member, you must be an Admin user, or you must have both the [Can manage staff members](/learn/staff-member-permissions/) permission and [Can manage billing](/learn/adding-a-staff-member/)**&#x20;**&#x74;oggle enabled in your **Staff Member&#x20;**&#x73;ettings.

To deactivate a staff member, open the **Staff Members** app and select the staff member to deactivate. Select the three-dot menu and select **Deactivate**.

Once the staff member is deactivated:

- They will not be able to log in to Mangomint.

- They will not be included in your Mangomint subscription billing.

- They **will** be included in reports.

- They will not be available for new appointments.

- They cannot be edited unless you reactivate them.

To reactivate a staff member, open the **Staff Members** app and select the staff member to reactivate. Select the three-dot menu and select **Activate**.

## Link copiedArchiving & unarchiving staff membersLink copied

To archive or unarchive a staff member, you must be an Admin user, or you must have both the [Can manage staff members](/learn/staff-member-permissions/) permission and [Can manage billing](/learn/adding-a-staff-member/)**&#x20;**&#x74;oggle enabled in your **Staff Member&#x20;**&#x73;ettings.

Before archiving a staff member who is paid via Payroll Processing, you will need to [remove the staff member from your payroll](/learn/adding-staff-members-to-your-payroll/).

To archive a staff member, open the **Staff Members** app and select the staff member to archive. Select the three-dot menu and select **Archive**.

Once the staff member is archived:

- They will not be able to log in to Mangomint.

- They will not be included in your Mangomint subscription billing.

- They will **not** be included in reports by default, but you can manually select them from the staff filter when running specific reports. Archived staff members will **not** be included in the [Payroll report](/learn/payroll-report/), even if they performed services during the selected time period. We recommend exporting this report **before** archiving a staff member. You can also unarchive a staff member to run the report and then archive them again.

- They will not be available for new appointments.

- They cannot be edited unless you unarchive them.

To unarchive a staff member, open the **Staff Members** app and select **Show Archived Staff** at the bottom of the staff member list.

Select the staff member to unarchive and select **Unarchive**. The staff member will return to the same status they had when they were archived. For example, if the staff member was Deactivated before they were archived, they will return as Deactivated.

## Can't find what you're looking for?

with us to talk to a real person and get your questions answered, or browse our [on-demand videos](/videos/).

***

[](/)

© Mangomint, Inc. All rights reserved.
